Welcome to the
Cohasset Historical Society
The Cohasset Historical Society has been collecting,
safeguarding and exhibiting artifacts relating to
Cohasset's historic past since 1928.
Headquartered at 106 South Main Street in the town's former 1903 library, the Society also operates three additional museums. The ca. 1754 Bates Ship Chandlery serves as the Society's Maritime Museum, and the 1810 Captain John Wilson House, interprets life in Cohasset during the 1800s. Our newest property, the Beechwood Meetinghouse and Museum houses our fire, police, and Beechwood community collections, highlighted by our two beautifully restored hand tub pumpers.
The Society currently has over 26,000 accessioned items that include historic textiles and clothing dating from the early 1800s to the present day, and over 7,000 photographs from daguerreotypes to digital images and numerous ephemera that showcase the town's theatrical past. We also have
19th-century furniture and decorative arts, a large collection of paintings depicting the town's landscapes and seascapes, people and places, military service records, letters, and diaries.
The Society offers opportunities for every interest. We welcome volunteers and your active participation.