1810 Captain John Wilson House
Cohasset’s 250th anniversary is just a year away. Come now to the Captain John Wilson House in the center of Cohasset Village and experience what domestic life was like in the 1850s for the deep sea captain and his wife Hepsibah and their nine children.
Indications are that Wilson maintained a ship’s chandlery on the first floor; see how well the family met the crowded conditions, adding a shed roofed addition ca. 1830. The period flower garden and plantings are maintained by the Cohasset Garden Club.
Given to the Society in 1936, the Wilson House served as headquarters and museum until the Lothrop House was acquired in 1954. Restored in 2005 with Community Preservation funding from the town, this provided the Society with the opportunity to reinterpret the house, and situate the Wilson family in not only the social but also the political events of their time.